BODILY INJURY INSURANCE COVERAGE
Under the Michigan no-fault law, all motorists must purchase a minimum amount of bodily injury insurance coverage. This coverage is the amount an insurance company will cover the driver and owner of a motor vehicle who is negligent and injures another person.
Since July 1, 2020, all motor vehicle owners must purchase bodily injury insuance coverage of at least $250,000 per person and $500,000 per accident. If you want less coverage (which we do not recommend), you have the option to reduce this coverage to $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident. To exercise this option to reduce coverage, insurance companies will require motorists to sign a form, because making this election for lower coverage is very financially risky; drivers and owners of motor vehicles are now potentially liable for the medical bills of a person they injured. That was not the situation under the former No-Fault law.
Under the new No-Fault law, all vehicle owners and drivers are now potentially responsible for millions of dollars in damages they were never responsible to pay before the law was recently changed. Because motorists could now be on the hook for someone else’s medical expenses, you would be wise to select the highest coverage you can afford to protect you assets, including your home, cars, and bank accounts. The more bodily injury insurance coverage you can afford, the better.
(Edited from https://www.michiganjustice.org/?pg=MichiganNewAutoInsuranceLaw)
If you have any questions about car insurance or the Michigan No-Fault law, be sure to contact us. We have been specializing in No-Fault law ever since it was created in Michigan in 1973. No one knows Michigan No-Fault insurance or car accident law better than the attorneys at Atkinson Petruska Kozma Hart & Couture, PC.